TV contract

Old, disused, forgotten and converted pubs
Troll

TV contract

Post by Troll »

Hi. Reading this forum reminded me of the 1970s, when I use to work for the TV rental company Visionhire, as a engineer.
The company had the contract to supply and service the TVs in all the Tetley's pubs and working Men's clubs.
We would spend a fair amount of time going to service the sets (not because they were so bad, but there was so many pubs and clubs with them!).
You had to quick getting the set back working as the drinkers would all be waiting to watch horse racing or whatever, and of course it was always our fault it had gone wrong! You nearly always got a drink offered (after you repaired it that is).
When I was an apprentice I would go with the engineer to help him with the lifting. Being quite young and not even old enough to drink legally I would have a half of mild and still feel light-headed. You would, quite rightly get sacked now a days. But thats as it was back then.
One point I will make is even then, when I was driving, I never took them up on the drink.

Not been in the trade for a long time now, but still remember it well.
Go the Rhinos.

buffaloskinner

Re: TV contract

Post by buffaloskinner »

Years ago we had a "pay as you view" Colour TV as that was all we could afford when we got married, got sick of watching the 14" black and white TV so we upgraded. I think they came round once month to empty them, take their cut and we got back the overs. I seem to recall it was Radio Rentals we had hired it from.
Is this the end of the story ...or the beginning of a legend?

volvojack

Post by volvojack »

When we got married 1960 we bought a B/ White , really modern for its time, a slim Pye on spindly legs. but as soon as colour came out, guess mid to late 1960s we got a colour set on rental from Vallance and Davidsons on the Headrow.