The Bulls Head Domestic stree Holbeck

Old, disused, forgotten and converted pubs
mickbrown51

The Bulls Head Domestic stree Holbeck

Post by mickbrown51 »

Hi everywon my first post on this site.My father was the landlord at the Bulls Head on Domestic street I live there for about 8 years. I worked as a Auto Electrian at leeds Ignition it was the old Gainsborough picture house building. Lots of things changed down there loses of the old pubs closed like everywhere they were happy days.if any won remembers them days please reply would be great to here.

tilly

Re: The Bulls Head Domestic stree Holbeck

Post by tilly »

Hi mickbrown 51 Welcome to the site its a shame to see the Bulls Head now i dont know anything about this pub.I can go back has far as the nineteen fifties in this area.Used to live in Hunslet and go to the two picture houses on Domestic Street the one at the other side of the road from the Bulls Head.And the one opposite what is now Salford Van Hire I remember the little workshops under the viaduct long gone now also Holbeck Feast watched them build the multi story flats also see them knocked down.Can you go back far enough to remember the Queens Picture House not far from the old Holbeck Library.?Happy days.
No matter were i end my days im an Hunslet lad with Hunslet ways.

mickbrown51

Post by mickbrown51 »

Thanks for your rely tilly, I bough my first car from Oldriges garage as is Salford van hire, there was a gypsy camp half why up domestic street, some came in the pub never any trouble . My dad was told if there was ever any trouble just to have a word with the leader of the camp and he would sort it out. But dad could handle his self a ex boxer in the army, and he kept a big syhaley under the bar which he only used wonce . Lots of good memoaries

mickbrown51

Post by mickbrown51 »