A dinosaur in Leeds.

The green spaces and places of Leeds
rikj

Post by rikj »

A bit of a surprise to find this, but it looks like a dinosaur to me. I'm no expert, but looks like a diplodocus, or maybe brachiosaurus. One of those 30 ton ones that stood around in swamps. (I understand that now we're in the EU we're allowed 40 ton dinosaurs).A quick measurement puts it at around 300ft long. That's approximate, as I'm sure you'll know from your own experiences that measuring a dinosaur isn't easy.It's difficult to get the head and neck straight while trying to measure the tail. So, this isn't a conclusive measurement, I've just assumed that the tail is around the same length as the body, and calculated the length from there.Anyhow, any guesses as to where it is? If not, I'll post up a pic as I'd be very interested to know the story behind it. I've posted this in the Parks section as we don't seem to have a "Flora and Fauna" section.

The Doggers

Post by The Doggers »

Is this something dug up recently??

Brandy

Post by Brandy »

its just ran past are house this morning i managed to snap it with mi fuji LOL
Attachments
__TFMF_w5ugqz45l5yahjultwrnzxi3_c3e3e9d9-9c07-451a-8903-dc02d27b5de3_0_main.jpg
__TFMF_w5ugqz45l5yahjultwrnzxi3_c3e3e9d9-9c07-451a-8903-dc02d27b5de3_0_main.jpg (8.82 KiB) Viewed 3849 times
There are only 10 types of people in the world -those who understand binary, and those that don't.

Yorkshireranger

Post by Yorkshireranger »

Remember some 40 years ago++, that on Park Row, there used to be a museum (if my memory is correct), I remember that as part of the exhibition, there was a full sized dinosaur displayed in the building suspended with guy ropes from all directions, does anybody else remember or am I dreaming???

chameleon
Site Admin

Post by chameleon »