Lady lane ghost - Police report and sighting

Hauntings, spectres and other supernatural tales
dadrockholiday

Post by dadrockholiday »

In the summer of 1991 I was a serving police officer at Millgarth street police station in Leeds. I was just finishing a night shift with one of my colleagues and we were parked in our police car (ford Fiesta then) on Lady Lane having turned left from Vicar Lane. The time was about 05:30 and it was a lovely sunny bright morning, very still with no wind. We had parked up to complete our pocket books before we returned to the station for dismissal. As it was a warm morning both the vehicles driver and passenger windows were open and the engine was switched off. I was seated in the passenger seat and the other officer (who we'll call John) was driving. As I was writing up my pocket book, I heard footsteps walking along the pavement at the side of me approaching from behind our car. I looked up to say good morning to the pedestrian, as there was not another soul in sight and it was the polite thing to do. As I looked up I saw a man aged about 55, wearing a green tween 3 peice suit and brogues, he was also wearing a trilby hat and a pocket watch. Under his right arm he was carrying a newspaper. I said "good morning" but he never even looked up. He just carried on walking down Lady lane. I think I commented to my colleague something like "blimey he must be warm in that suit!" Anyway, we watched him as he walked down lady lane and he stopped at the entrance to an old warehouse on the left of the road, just past the junciton where all the Chinese restraunts are. the doorway jutted out and had a brick porch round it. He took out a bunch of keys and then walked into the doorway and we just assumed he had been the caretaker. After about 5 minutes we drove off towards Millgarth, as we reached the doorway where we had seen the man enter, I automatically looked to my left. To my total shock and amazement, the doorway we had seen him enter was in