Leeds Crown Court Construction History

Bunkers, shelters and other buildings
nmegson

Leeds Crown Court Construction History

Post by nmegson »

Hello, I'm a student doing a report on Leeds Crown Court.
My Father who grew up in Leeds recalls it being built in the late 70's and he reckons it was built to with stand intense attack such as bombs, considering it's time of construction the main culprits would be the IRA.

This would be a very interesting fact for me to include in my assignment so if anyone has any proof they could provide me it would be most helpful!!!
Of course, I would need actual physical proof that I can reference in my report rather than just word of mouth.

I'm hoping one of you lovely Leodians can help me!!

Many thanks :)

jma

Re: Leeds Crown Court Construction History

Post by jma »

I don't think anybody who had the information you seek and with documentary evidence would be likely to risk contravening official secrets legislation by disclosing what must still be confidential security information.

I can give you a bit of background information. Prior to the building of the new Combined Courts building, the Crown Court and before that Leeds Assizes and Sessions courts sat in the Town Hall, as did Leeds Magistrates' Court and one West Riding Magistrates' Court.